July 23, 2024


International Student Club UK

British isles University of Arts and Sciences college awarded 2021 Kirwan Prize, Sturgill Award

Michael D. Bardo (still left) is the 2021 receiver of the Albert D. Kirwan Memorial Prize. Mark T. Fillmore (ideal) is the 2021 recipient of the William B. Sturgill Award.
Source: Uk Community Affairs

LEXINGTON, Ky. (United kingdom Public AFFAIRS) – Two University of Kentucky faculty members in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences are recipients of The Graduate University’s distinguished annual awards for exemplary investigate in the previous four many years and fantastic contributions to graduate pupil mentoring and graduate schooling.

Michael D. Bardo, professor of psychology in the Department of Psychology, is the 2021 receiver of the Albert D. Kirwan Memorial Prize. The prize is bestowed each and every calendar year to a college member in recognition of their fantastic contributions to initial research or scholarship, with an emphasis on function generated 4 yrs prior to the award.

Mark T. Fillmore, Director of Graduate Experiments and professor of cognitive science in the Department of Psychology, is the 2021 recipient of the William B. Sturgill Award, an honor given every single 12 months to a graduate college member who has provided remarkable contributions to graduate training at United kingdom.

“The Graduate School and the Graduate Council are happy to realize and celebrate our 2021 honorees in analysis and mentoring,” explained interim Dean Brian Jackson. “Professors Bardo and Fillmore are outstanding role models to our graduate students, as are so quite a few of our graduate faculty members.”

Michael D. Bardo

Bardo, a school member at Uk considering that 1982, has worked in neuropsychopharmacology and drug abuse for more than 35 decades. For his do the job, he has gained constant funding by the National Institutes of Overall health (NIH) since 1985 and is the creator of additional than 200 study content articles.

Bardo’s analysis investigates neurobehavioral outcomes of environmental enrichment and social influences on drug self-administration. His investigation interests also include things like medicine improvement for compound use problems. In addition to behavioral processes, his laboratory conducts do the job applying chemogenetics, immunohistochemistry, stereotaxic medical procedures and microdialysis with High Performance Liquid Chromatograph (HPLC).

Through his vocation, Bardo has qualified 21 Ph.D. students, 14 postdoctoral scholars and much more than 200 undergraduate pupils in his research laboratory.

“He has generally freely shared recognition with his learners and designed guaranteed men and women recognized their crucial role in the do the job of his lab, often which include initially-creator status on publications,” stated Gregory T. Smith, nominator and division chair. “Beyond recognition, his pupils describe him as generous with his time and his other sources.”

The Kirwan Memorial Prize was established in 1995 and acknowledges its namesakes’ collaborative investigation initiatives, as nicely as Albert Kirwan’s endeavors in building an environment at United kingdom that encourages high quality research and scholarship.

Serving as head soccer coach from 1938 to 1944 and afterwards dean of men, “Ab” Kirwan was a distinguished college member and scholar in the industry of Southern history, dean of The Graduate Faculty and served as college president from 1968 to 1970.

Elizabeth Kirwan was awarded the Sullivan Medallion in 1973 for her support to British isles and the Lexington community. She held executive roles throughout far more than 10 corporations, such as president of the British isles Woman’s Club and chairwoman of the Lexington Parks and Recreation Board.

Mark T. Fillmore

Fillmore has been a professor of psychology at United kingdom for 22 many years, and his study places contain behavioral pharmacology and liquor habit. Funded by grants from the Nationwide Institute of Alcoholic beverages Abuse and Alcoholism, his exploration application focuses on how alcohol consumption alters behavioral and cognitive operating in people.

Fillmore at present serves as co-director of the university’s NIH-funded instruction grant supporting the study training of graduate students in the study of liquor abuse. He is also a mentor and co-sponsor of numerous NIH occupation-enhancement awards for graduate learners at United kingdom and other institutions in the United States.

“Mark’s mentorship fundamentally modified my expert life,” claims Walter Roberts, a former scholar in Fillmore’s lab who now serves on the investigate school at Yale University’s College of Medication. “When I was selected to attend the University of Kentucky, I experienced a short while ago graduated from a little point out college with small real study working experience. Mark supported me in coming up the summer season prior to my to start with semester to work in the lab and ease my transition. Around the future 6 decades, Mark helped me find my enthusiasm for alcohol analysis.”

Set up in 1975, the Sturgill Award is named in honor of alumnus William B. Sturgill, who contributed to increased training by means of arranging and serving as president of the Hazard Impartial School Basis, in addition to functioning with legislators to acquire the group higher education process throughout the Commonwealth.

Sturgill, who died in 2014, was born in Lackey, Kentucky, and graduated from British isles in 1946. He was involved in a wide range of companies, such as executive and proprietor of various coal functions, East Kentucky Expenditure Organization, Fourth Street and Gentry Tobacco Warehouses and the Hartland Growth Project. Sturgill served as both of those secretary of electrical power and secretary of agriculture under Gov. John Y. Brown Jr.  He served 18 decades on UK’s Board of Trustees, which includes serving as chair for 10 yrs. The Sturgill Improvement Setting up is named in his honor.

Additional distinguished nominees for the 2021 Albert D. and Elizabeth H. Kirwan Memorial Prize:

  • Tracy Campbell, E. Vernon Smith and Eloise C. Smith Professor of American Historical past in the Section of Background, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Susan Gardner, professor in the Division of Physics and Astronomy, College or university of Arts and Sciences
  • Jason Unrine, professor in the Section of Plant and Soil Sciences, College or university of Agriculture, Foods and Ecosystem and
  • Dong-Sheng Yang, University Study Professor in the Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences.

Extra distinguished nominees for the 2021 William B. Sturgill Award:

  • Debra Harley, professor in the Department of Early Childhood, Special Instruction and Counselor Training, School of Schooling
  • Arthur Hunt, professor in the Section of Plant and Soil Sciences, College of Agriculture, Food items and Ecosystem
  • Lorri Morford, assistant professor in the Division of Orthodontics, School of Dentistry and
  • Yinan Wei, professor in the Office of Chemistry, School of Arts and Sciences.